A Stitch In Time

My Life In Words

110885686832102455

Posted by debraroby on February 25, 2005

Am I working? I started writing this blog to encourage myself to work more.. to focus my efforts and have record of what I’m accomplishing.

When I finish work for a day, I want to document what was accomplished, and when possible put the photos up so I can see how a project changes as I work.

Looking back on the past month, I haven’t been working much. And I have the evidence at hand in these log.

Monday is the first day of a week… and close enough to the first day of March. Got to get myself back on track, and get some real work done.

Part of the problem, I think, is working to machine quilt these items for our quilt show. These are not pieces that I’m very emotionally invested in. I don’t really care much about them at the moment. And working on them feels like wasting time. So, rather than waste time working, I just waste time and avoid working. Guess what, deb, the work is still there. It’s not going away by ignoring it… and I know it!

So here’s my deal with myself. I can spend 2 hours working on something creative… moving forward on my work… for every one hour I spend finishing up these committed pieces. They may take a little longer to get done, but I won’t avoid any work at all.

Stay tuned to reports of exciting things.. and feel free to hold me to my word.

One Response to “110885686832102455”

  1. Mrs. Mel said

    Quilting is the most boring part of making a quilt, hands down. To relieve the boredom, try quilting designs that are a challenge, or thread that is new and exciting (?) or listen to a great book on tape/cd that engrosses the brain while the hands make the quilting.

Leave a Reply

 
