A Stitch In Time

My Life In Words

110736046307211505

Posted by debraroby on February 2, 2005

Carol”s subsconscious spoke…and inspired me to share.

It’s important to listen to psychic messages.

This tale happened somewhere between 1992 and 1997 (when I was living in Chesterland). I was taking my morning shower (as is my wont), when a clear message came to me: go to (a certain) antique shop out in Burton this morning. You’re Featherweight will be there.

The thought was so clear I couldn’t stop thinking about it. So as soon as it was reasonable, I headed over to this shop.

The owner walked inside right before me. And she was carrying a recognizable little black case. I smiled, and followed her to the counter.

“May I help you?” she queried…

“Yes. I believe I am supposed to purchase that FW you just brought in.”

When she and the other customer heard my story.. we laughed. She had bought it herself just a week before, and had had it home cleaning it up a little and trying to freshen the musty odor of the box.

It was a fine little machine… made within of week of the day I was born. Average wear, complete set of standard attachments. It was a perfect machine. And… everything in the shop was 15% off that day… including this little Featherweight. So, believing it was fated… I bought my one and only FW for a grand total of $85. This, when they were sold elsewhere for about $200.

Now, as it turns out I don’t like sewing on Featherweights. The black and the shiny finish make it difficult for me to see when I’m sewing on it. And it’s just a bit small. So I did sell it a couple years ago to a guild sister who wanted a reasonable one to give her granddaughter for xmas. I don’t regret the purchase.. it’s a great tale.

Now I wish a little voice would tell me about a similar Singer slant 201. I do regret selling THAT machine.

Leave a Reply

 
